STATEMENT ON RUSSIA'S WAR ON UKRAINE & INTERNATIONAL SPORT

Russia's unprovoked and unjustifiable war of choice against Ukraine, enabled by the Belarusian government, is abhorrent and a flagrant breach of its international obligations. Respect for human rights and peaceful relations between nations form the foundation of international sport.

We, as a collective of like-minded nations, affirm our support for international sport organisations' position that:

- Russia and Belarus should not be permitted to host, bid for or be awarded any international sporting events.
- Individual athletes selected by Russia and Belarus, administrators and teams
 representing the Russian or Belarusian state should be banned from
 competing in other countries, including those representing bodies, cities or
 brands that are effectively representing Russia or Belarus, such as major
 football clubs.
- Wherever possible, appropriate actions should be taken to limit sponsorship and other financial support from entities with links to the Russian or Belarusian states.

We call on all international sport federations to endorse these principles, and applaud all those that have done so already. We also welcome the International Paralympic Committee's decision to prevent Russia's and Belarus' athletes from competing in the 2022 Winter Paralympics in Beijing. These restrictions should be in place until cooperation under the fundamental principles of international law has become possible again.

We encourage all international sport organisations and all relevant legal bodies not to sanction athletes, coaches or officials who decide unilaterally to terminate their contracts with Russian, Belarusian or Ukrainian clubs, as well as not to pursue or to sanction sport organisers which decide to ban athletes or teams selected by Russia or Belarus.

Furthermore, we encourage the international sport community to continue to show its solidarity with the people of Ukraine, including through supporting the continuation of Ukrainian sport where possible.

signed by the following Ministers:

Australia	Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck, Minister for Sport
Austria	Vice-Chancellor Werner Kogler, Minister of Arts and Culture, Civil Service and Sport
Belgium	Valérie Glatigny, Minister for Higher Education, Adult Education, Scientific Research, University Hospitals, Youth

	Welfare, Houses of Justice, Youth, Sport and the Promotion of Brussels of the French-Speaking Community.
	This signature commits the French-speaking Community, the Flemish Community and the German-speaking Community of Belgium.
Canada	The Honourable Pascale St-Onge, Minister of Sport
Croatia	Dr Nikolina Brnjac, Minister of Tourism and Sport
Cyprus	Prodromos Prodromou, Minister of Education, Culture, Sport and Youth Office
Czech Republic	Petr Gazdík, Minister for Education, Youth and Sports
Denmark	Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen, Minister for Culture
Estonia	Tiit Terik, Minister of Culture
Finland	Antti Kurvinen, Minister of Science and Culture
France	Roxana Maracineanu, Minister of Sport
Germany	Mahmut Özdemir MP, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community
Greece	Lefteris Avgenakis, Deputy Minister for Sports
Hungary	Dr Tünde Szabó, Minister of State for Sport
Iceland	Ásmundur Einar Daðason, Minister of Education and Children
Ireland	Jack Chambers TD, Minister of State for Sport and the Gaeltacht
Italy	Valentina Vezzali, Secretary of State for Sport
Japan	H.E. SUEMATSU Shinsuke, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Republic of Korea	HWANG Hee, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism
Latvia	Anita Muižniece, Minister for Education and Science
Liechtenstein	H.E. Dominique Hasler, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport
Lithuania	Dr Jurgita Šiugždinienė, Minister of Education, Science and Sport

Luxembourg	Georges Engel, Minister of Sport
Malta	Dr Clifton Grima, Minister for Education and Sport
Netherlands	Conny Helder, Minister for Long-term Care and Sport
New Zealand	Hon Grant Robertson, Minister for Sport and Recreation
Norway	Anette Trettebergstuen, Minister of Culture and Equality
Poland	Kamil Bortniczuk, Minister of Sport and Tourism
Portugal	Tiago Brandão Rodrigues, Minister of Education (responsible for Youth and Sport)
Romania	Carol-Eduard Novak, Minister of Sports
Slovakia	Ivan Husar, State Secretary for Sport
Slovenia	Dr Simona Kustec, Minister of Education, Science and Sport
Spain	Miquel Octavi Iceta i Llorens, Minister of Culture and Sport
Sweden	Anders Ygeman, Minister for Integration and Migration
Switzerland	Viola Amherd, Head of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport
United Kingdom	The Rt Hon Nadine Dorries MP, Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
United States of America	Jennifer Hall Godfrey, Senior Official for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs